Established in 2016 under the guidance of Dennis S. Charney, MD, Dean of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, the Alumni Advisory Council (AAC) is the governing body overseeing the Office of Alumni Relations and Development. Comprised of members from Mount Sinai's diverse alumni constituencies, including MD and PhD graduates, former house staff, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty, the AAC also includes past presidents of the Mount Sinai Alumni Association. Council members are appointed by Dean Charney in recognition of their significant contributions to the Mount Sinai alumni community.

The Alumni Advisory Council is dedicated to:

  • Fostering a lifelong sense of community among alumni
  • Encouraging philanthropy in support of the School’s educational mission
  • Providing guidance on initiatives to create meaningful connections between alumni and students
  • Advising on special alumni events, such as the Jacobi Medallion program and Alumni Reunion


Standing Members

Dennis S. Charney, MD
Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean,
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
President for Academic Affairs,
Mount Sinai Health System

Marta Filizola, PhD
Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences 
Professor, Department of Pharmacological Sciences 
Professor, Department of Neuroscience

David C. Thomas, MD, MS, MHPE 
Dean of Medical Education and 
Chair of the Department of Medical Education

Phyllis Schnepf
Senior Associate Dean for Education and Research Administration
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Roshma Azeem, MPA
Deputy Chief Development Officer
The Mount Sinai Health System

Denise Dilley
Director of Alumni Relations