Print Page   |   Contact Us
News & Press: School News

IME Excellence in Teaching Awards Recipients 2016

Wednesday, May 18, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Briggs
Share |

We are delighted to share the 2016 winners of the Institute for Medical Education's (IME) Excellence in Teaching Awards. 


The IME’s Excellence in Teaching Awards honor faculty, students and staff who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in teaching and have made meaningful contributions to the educational activities across the Mount Sinai Health System. Education is a critical mission of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the IME supports institutional activities related to promoting and advancing innovative medical education and scholarship as well as educator recognition, mentorship, reward and development.


This year, the call for nominations encompassed the School of Medicine as well as all seven hospital campuses and affiliates of the Mount Sinai Health System. Award winners were nominated by their colleagues, chairs, students and trainees. A committee of faculty reviewed all nominations and we are delighted to honor these individuals and recognize them for their innovation and excellence in education. We would like to express our gratitude to the selection committee.


The 14th IME Excellence in Teaching Awards will be presented on Thursday, June 9th at 4:00 pm in the Hatch Auditorium with a reception to follow immediately after. We hope you can join us to celebrate and congratulate these outstanding members of our community.


Twenty awardees will be honored in 6 categories:


Dr. Arthur H. Aufses, Jr. Career Achievement Award in Medical Education

Scott H. Barnett, MD – Pediatrics; Medical Education  


Master Clinician Award

Steven Neustein, MD – Anesthesiology


Excellence in Teaching Awards

Andrew Alexis, MD, MPH – Dermatology

Carrie L. Ernst, MD – Psychiatry; Medical Education

Craig L. Katz, MD – Psychiatry; Medical Education

Staci A. Leisman, MD – Medicine; Medical Education

Richard H. Stern, MD – Radiology


House Staff Excellence in Teaching Awards

Jeremy S. Faust, MD – Emergency Medicine

Parissa Tabrizian, MD – Surgery


Medical Student Excellence in Teaching Awards

Giselle Lynch – MD Student, Class of 2017

The LGBTQ+ People in Medicine Student Group:

  • Elizabeth Adler – MD Student, Class of 2017
  • Nicholas Barbieri, PhD – Postdoctoral Fellow
  • Richard Cancio – MPH Student, Class of 2016
  • Les James – MD/MPH Student, Class of 2018
  • Scott Jelinek – MD/MPH Student, Class of 2018
  • Murad Khan – MD Student, Class of 2018
  • Kyle Riley – MD Student, Class of 2018
  • Elizabeth Tarras – MD Student, Class of 2018 

Excellence in the Service of Education Awards

Renee Bischoff, MPH, LMSW – Global Health

Rachel Pinotti, MLIS – Information and Education Services, Levy Library


Please join us in congratulating all awardees! 



©2014 Mount Sinai Health System    

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal